Tuesday 20th Nov, 2018

OUT & ABOUT: Shipping Industry Golf Challenge chips in for charity

Photo: Ian Ackerman
Photo: Ian Ackerman

MONA Vale Golf Club was again the scene of a battle of epic proportions between the titans of Australia’s shipping industry – a golf battle, that is.

It was a beautiful day as the teams hit the course after a fortifying sausage-sizzle breakfast.

The day is held every year to raise funds for the Oncology Research Unit at Westmead Children’s Hospital.


Head of the unit, Dr Geoff McCowage, was on hand to explain some of the latest and amazing advances that are being made into cancer research among children. He also expressed his deep appreciation for the support of the shipping industry.

Over the years, the Golf Day has raised well over $600,000 for the hospital, and while the financial result of this year’s event is still being calculated, it is sure to be significant.

This year, 44 players with an AGU handicap played off for the inaugural Peter Attwater Perpetual Trophy.

This trophy reflects grateful thanks to Mr Attwater from the industry and Westmead Hospital Children’s Oncology Department’s for his role in organising the event and being head of the committee raising more than $600,000 for the Hospital.

Dr McCowage also presented Mr Attwater with a trophy recognising the contribution he has made to the hospital through his involvement with the Golf Day.

While Mr Attwater has retired from the organising committee and the industry, he still takes part in the event.

Major sponsors for the Shipping Industry Golf Day were Adaptalift Hyster, DP World, DCN – Daily Cargo News, Norton White, NSW Ports, Patrick and Royal Wolf.

Svitzer Australia sponsored the sausage-sizzle breakfast and hole sponsors were AAT, BSM Global, Containerliners Australasia, Cummins South Pacific, FTA & APSA, JPC Reefer Services, MGL Logistics, Newcastle Stevedores, Qube Logistics, Seaway Agencies, Spotpress, Swire Shipping, Thermo King and Triton International.

All the fantastic prizes were donated by major sponsors and hole sponsors (the Adaptalift forklift models were particularly popular).

Wine for the auction was donated by David Field, and for the heads ‘n tails, the TV was donated by Royal Wolf and the golf bag by NSW Ports. The lady’s prize golf bag was donated by Hamburg Süd

The winners were as follows:

Team event winners

  1. Cummins
  2. Qube
  3. JPC Reefers
  4. DCN Team 1
  5. Svitzer
  6. Thermoking
  7. Spotpress
  8. DP World Team 1
  9. Patrick Team 2
  10. Hamburg Süd

Individual winners

  1. Edie Martin – DCN Team 1
  2. Dirk Ovenden – Svitzer
  3. Damien Wilson – Qube

Women’s Winner
Lana Howell – AAT

Long Drives
Hole 1: Tony Pearson – FTA & APSA
Hole 11: Sean Hunter – Swire Shipping

Nearest the Pin
2. Craig Selman – DCN
6. M.Trevaskis – Thermoking
8. Damien Wilson – Qube
14. Ashley Street – ISS
16. Ben Buddo – Royal Wolf

Peter Attwater Perpetual Trophy winner
Edie Martin – DCN

Send this to friend