FOUR new members have been appointed by the Australian government to the Board of Infrastructure Australia, namely Mark Balnaves, John Fitzgerald, Marion Fulker and Graham Quirk.

Infrastructure Australia is an independent statutory body providing advice on Australia’s infrastructure priorities and policy reforms. It also assists in public infrastructure investment decision-making.

Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack said the four appointees would bring a “wealth of knowledge” to the Board and continue to add to the “important work of Infrastructure Australia”.

Mark Balnaves is currently a director of Evans + Ayers and has more than 20 years of director, strategic advisory and infrastructure experience.

“He brings with him significant infrastructure experience, having previously advised on a number of major projects across Australia including most recently the new Royal Adelaide Hospital,” Mr McCormack said.

“John Fitzgerald, having previously been interim CEO for Infrastructure Australia, will also be a valuable addition as he brings extensive corporate knowledge.

“John is currently a director of the Victorian Funds Management Corporation, non–executive chairman of Evolution Rail Pty Ltd, Suburban Land Agency (ACT), InfraNexus Management and Canberra Light Rail.


“Marion Fulker will be an asset to the board given her proven track record in infrastructure-related research,” Mr McCormack said.

Ms Fulker brings to the Board her experience as the inaugural chief executive of the Committee for Perth Ltd and an adjunct senior research fellow at The University of Western Australia.

Graham Quirk is expected to brings an understanding of local government to the board, having previously served as the 16th Lord Mayor of Brisbane.

“Graham’s knowledge will be crucial when providing an assessment of the impact of certain infrastructure projects on Australian communities,” Mr McCormack said.

“I would also like to thank outgoing Board members for their contribution to Infrastructure Australia.”

The Infrastructure Australia Board consists of 12 members, including a chair.