TWO new members have been appointed to the Board of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator.

Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack said current NHVR Board deputy chair Peter Garske and board member Coral Taylor would retire this month.

“Julie Russell and Catherine Scott will replace Mr Garske and Ms Taylor when their appointments end,” Mr McCormack said.

A staggered approach to board appointments was instituted last year to provide a smooth transition for new membership.

“Duncan Gay will continue on as NHVR board chair, as will board members Ken Lay and Robin Stewart-Crompton.”


Assistant Minister for Freight Transport Scott Buchholz said both Ms Russell and Ms Scott were highly respected within the heavy vehicle transport and logistics industry, bringing with them a wealth of experience.

Ms Russell was named Queensland Trucking Association Woman of the Year in 2014 and National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year in 2015.

“Her commitment to road transport reform was recognised when she was appointed to the Australian Trucking Association Board in April and an ongoing role as chair of the ATA’s Industry Skills and Workforce Committee,” Mr Buchholz said.

Catherine Scott’s career combines experience in transport, infrastructure, and natural resources.

With expertise in risk management and corporate governance, Ms Scott has been chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator since 2012.”