AT THE recent President’s Dinner of the Victorian Transport Association, several honours were bestowed upon industry luminaries.

Namely, Glen Cameron Group founder and managing director Glen Cameron was presented with Life Membership of the VTA, while Rocke Brothers co-founder Michael Rocke was presented with the prestigious WFD Chalmers Award.

More than 100 senior representatives of the transport industry, past award winners and other freight and logistics stakeholders attended the annual black-tie event at Melbourne’s Athenaeum Club, which was sponsored by CMV Truck & Bus.

Life Membership is the highest accolade the VTA can bestow. In the Association’s 117-year history, it has only been presented 19 times, underscoring its significance as a way of acknowledging service, loyalty and dedication from an especially distinguished member.

In his presentation, VTA president Cameron Dunn lauded Glen Cameron’s long-standing record of success and achievement as founder and managing director of the Glen Cameron Group.

“Glen joined the industry working for his father Ed’s business out of school and started his own operation with an eight-tonne tray truck in 1975, aged only 22. The Glen Cameron Group has grown into a multimillion-dollar logistics company that is the envy of operators around Australia,” Mr Dunn said.


“He has directly employed hundreds of transport workers over his 44 years trading, and hundreds more indirectly, and his business has made a massive and positive contribution to the economic livelihoods of the communities it operates in.”

The WFD Chalmers Award was instituted by the VTA in memory of Daryl Chalmers, who was a member of the Executive Council for over 40 years. It is presented annually to recognise individuals that have supported and worked with the Association over many years, with dedication, loyalty, and commitment to its existence and longevity.

“Tonight’s recipient well and truly exceeds every one of these criteria,” Mr Dunn said in announcing Michael Rocke as the 2019 recipient of the W.F.D Chalmers Award.