What does your job involve?
I am the managing director of All Ports International, Melbourne. I don’t have a specific “job” but every day brings new challenges and hurdles. My days fly by. I’ll assist staff while also doing management tasks and looking for ways to improve services. I take clients compliments and share them with staff and take on board negative feedback and try to learn.

How did you get into logistics?
I completed year-12 in 1992 and had a “gap” year. Mum was frustrated with me sitting on the sofa and told me to get a job. A friend knew the then owner of All Ports and the rest is history. I started as the runner but worked my way around the office to become general manager in 2014. I was employed by All Ports for 25 years and now I own it. I am sure [former boss] Peter O’Connor wouldn’t have seen that coming back in 1992 because I sure didn’t.

Why is logistics a great sector in which to work?
Every day is different. We do the same stuff, import and export but there is always a hidden gem. It’s intriguing to say the least and when most people ask what you do, they say “ah”. I don’t think they quite grasp our industry as it is a little unique even though most things everyone touches would have been imported. Working closely with the ABF is also satisfying in keeping Australia safe.

What are some early memories?
I grew up as the baby of four children. I have three older brothers who made me strong so I thank them for that. Some may call it strong, others may call it stubborn. I recall wanting to play cricket (which I hate) with my brothers in the backyard. I whinged so they’d let me have a bat. Well the last laugh was on me as they would line me up with a tennis ball wrapped in electrical tape and bowled directly at me! My brothers won that day. My folks had a holiday house at Lake Eppalock, around an hour’s drive from Melbourne. We would be there every weekend and Christmas holidays. We’d water-ski from dawn to dusk and they are the family memories I’ll keep forever.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?
I always wanted to be a photographer, it’s in my year 12 bio to be a photographer and I still love it today. After 22 years of marriage I have my husband trained just to stop and smile for me. He knows it is quicker to work with me than against me. I’ve passed this trait down to my girls who both love it and are studying photography at high school.

Where do you live? What makes it a great place to live?
We currently live in Taylors Lakes, close to our girls’ high school. It’s a lovely area to live in, quiet and the parklands are an awesome spot to walk the dog. We’ll remain there for a further year while our youngest daughter finishes high school. A sea change may be on the cards.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?
Spare time, I don’t have any! Seriously, I love to walk and work out. We currently foster a Border Force puppy and she is full of energy so a walk with her is exercise in itself. During winter our family likes to snow board. We are regular visitors to Mt Hotham and it’s a great way to turn off.

To where would you like to retire?
I’d like to remain in Melbourne. Australia is beautiful and the more I travel the more I enjoy coming home. While we have other beautiful states, Melbourne is in my heart. I’m such a proud Melbournian and think our city is superb.

As a Melbournian, you must have an AFL club?
I am a proud Collingwood supporter although I do still have all of my teeth! My entire family (except my husband) is Collingwood so growing up I really had little choice. My husband and I allowed our daughters to barrack for either Collingwood or Essendon when they were young so we were lucky enough to get one of each. There was no way our girls would barrack for any other teams. My greatest memory was being at the MCG to watch Collingwood win the 2010 Premiership against St Kilda. The celebrations went well into the night.

Tell us about your family.
My husband and I have been together since 1992, high school sweethearts and married five years later in 1997.  Our first daughter Jemma was born in 2001 and our second daughter Phoebe was born 18-months later in 2003.  Having the girls close in age is a great thing now but at the time, I didn’t know any better and just got on with being a mum to two kids under two. Now they are older and being a mum to two girls means we have a communal wardrobe but it’s a little frustrating to find your 16-year-old wearing the top you spent 10 minutes looking for.

If you or someone you know would like to be a future subject of The Grill, please email editorial@thedcn.com.au

This article appeared in the January 2020 edition of DCN Magazine