YANG Ming held a naming ceremony for its 2800-TEU YM Constancy at CSBC’s Kaohsiung shipyard on 19 March.

YM Constancy is the eighth in a series of 10 2800 TEU container vessels built at CSBC shipyard.

It has a nominal capacity of 2940 TEU and is equipped with 353 plugs for reefer containers. It has a length of 209.75 metres, a width of 32.8 meters and a draft of 11.2 meters. YM Constancy is designed to cruise at a speed up to 21 knots.

The newbuilding adopts what Yang Ming calls the Sea Sword Bow design to significantly save energy and optimise hydrodynamic performance.

The ship is outfitted with an electronic controlled fuel injection engine with low-load tuning exhaust gas bypass fuel control system will greatly enhance the new ship’s energy efficiency.

Furthermore, the installation of scrubbers will help Yang Ming to fulfil its promise to reduce emissions of nitrous oxides and sulphur oxide.

The ceremony was officiated jointly by Yang Ming Chairman Cheng Cheng-Mount and CSBC Corporation Chairman Cheng Wen-Lon.

Ho Shu-Ping, Director General of Department of Navigation and Aviation, Ministry of Transportation and Communications was invited to officially name the ship during the ceremony and wished the ship and its crew the best of luck on their future voyages.

In addition to the environmental advantages, YM Constancy is also certified with Bureau Veritas’ SMARTSHIP (MACHINERY 1) notation, which indicates that the ship is equipped with an integrated computer-based system for the controlling and monitoring of the automated installations of periodically unattended machinery spaces.

YM Constancy will be deployed on Yang Ming’s intra-Asia service, JTS, from April 1st. With the addition of the new vessel, its energy-saving technologies coupled with current steady market demand will help optimize Yang Ming’s intra-Asia service network.

The port rotation of JTS is Nagoya – Tokyo – Chiba – Yokohama – Keelung – Kaohsiung – Hong Kong – Shekou – Port Kelang – Singapore – Manila South Port – Kaohsiung – Hong Kong – Shekou – Xiamen – Nagoya.