Proudly sponsored by NSW Ports, the 2020 DCN Australian Shipping and Maritime Industry Awards are to be announced on the DCN Awards website at 11.30am Thursday 18 February, 2021.


Below is a list of finalists for all applicable categories including the four Liner Trade Awards. Winners and those that are highly commended in each award category will be revealed on the night, as will the Newsmaker of the Year and the 2020 Maritime Hall of Fame inductee.

2020 DCN Australian Shipping & Maritime Industry Awards Finalists:

Liner Trade Award: Australia-South East Asia
COSCO, Hapag-Lloyd, Maersk Line, ONE, OOCL

Liner Trade Award: Australia-North East Asia, sponsored by Port of Brisbane
ANL, COSCO Shipping, Maersk Line, ONE, OOCL

Liner Trade Award: Australia-NZ/Pacific Islands/PNG, sponsored by Liebherr-Australia
ANL, MSC, Neptune Pacific Line, Sofrana-ANL, Swire Shipping

Liner Trade Award: Australia-North America
ANL, CMA CGM, Hamburg Süd, Hapag-Lloyd, Maersk Line

Customer Service Award, sponsored by DP World Australia
Winner and Highly Commended recipients to be announced on the day

Environmental Award
Fracht Australia, Gladstone Ports Corporation, HullWiper, Maersk, Mid West Ports Authority, MSC, North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation, OMC International, Port of Brisbane, Port of Newcastle & Port Authority of NSW, Port of Townsville, Ports Australia, Spectainer, Svitzer Australia, Victoria International Container Terminal

Excellence in Bulk Logistics or Heavy Lift Award, sponsored by GeelongPort
AAL Shipping, Asiaworld Shipping Services, BBC Chartering Australia, LINX Port Services, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Ocean

Maritime Services Award, sponsored by Port of Melbourne
AMS Group, Angus Mitchell (Maritime Safety Queensland), BHP Towage Services, Donald O’Connor (Japan Marine Engineering), Justin Durant (GAC Mackay), Norton White Lawyers, Ofload, Port Authority of NSW, Svitzer Australia

Seafarers Welfare Award, AMSA and Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
Daniel Grech (BHP Mitsubishi Alliance), Flying Angel Club Fremantle, Maritime Safety Queensland, MtS Sydney, Tas Bull Foundation

Port or Terminal of the Year, sponsored by Svitzer Australia
BHP (Port Hedland), Mid West Ports Authority, Port of Brisbane, Port of Cairns, Port of Mackay – North Queensland Bulk Ports Corporation, Port of Melbourne, Port of Newcastle, Port of Port Hedland, Victoria International Container Terminal

Supply Chain Innovation & Technology Award, sponsored by MIRRAT
ANL, Cloud Logistics Solutions, Gladstone Ports Corporation, ImpexDocs, Jaiota, Kalgin Global Logistics, Ligentia International, Maersk, MSC, Ofload, Spectainer, Stephen Rabie, Whale Logistics

Women in Shipping & Maritime Logistics, sponsored by LINX Cargo Care Group
Alison Cusack (Cusack & Co), Cheryl-Lee Garnett (Solutions Customs and Forwarding), Deanne Withers (All Ports International Logistics Melbourne), Jacqui McCombie (Globelink International), Kirsty Timbury (BHP Towage Services), Liné Corfixen (Gladstone Ports Corporation), Lisa Mills (GeelongPort), Nikki Mading (Victoria International Container Terminal), Shannon and Kyla King (Excel Logistics)

Gender Diversity Award, sponsored by Port Authority of NSW
BHP Towage Services, Celebrity Cruises, DP World Australia, Maersk, Patrick Terminals, Port Authority of NSW, Port of Townsville, Wayfinder

Customs Broker of the Year, sponsored by IFCBAA
3DL, All Ports International Logistics Melbourne, BTi Logistics, Compliant Customs, I. H. Hunter, Mac Customs, Maersk (Customs House Brokerage), Nicole Couper (Crane Worldwide Logistics), Powerhouse International (QLD), Solutions Customs and Forwarding

Freight Forwarder of the Year, sponsored by Port of Newcastle
All Ports International Melbourne, Customs Agency Services, Depth Defence Logistics, Globelink, Mac Customs, Michael Johnston (Australian Coastal Shipping), Powerhouse Logistics, Southern Cross Cargo, Whale Logistics, Willship International

Young Achievement Award, sponsored by The Merchant Navy War Memorial Fund
Alex Harkin (Seaport OPX), Alison Cusack (Cusack & Co), Elijah Moore (Svitzer Australia), Michael Parakh (BTi Logistics), Taylor Blair (Port of Brisbane)

Safety Award, sponsored by BHP
AAL, BHP (Port Shipping), Brisbane Marine Pilots, DP World Australia HSSE team, MIAL, OMC International, Victoria International Container Terminal

Newsmaker of the Year, sponsored by Daily Cargo News
To be announced on the day

Australian Maritime Hall of Fame Inductee, sponsored by HFW
To be announced on the day

Daily Cargo News would like to thank all those who took the time and effort to nominate as well as those who took part in our Customer Service Award survey. We would like to wish all finalists the best of luck.