THE federal government has announced several changes to the Export Finance Australia Board, as the organisation seeks to support Australian exporters during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Export Finance Australia chair James M Millar has been appointed for a further three-year term, while chair of Carbon Revolution James Douglas and CBH Group chief executive Jimmy Wilson have both been appointed to the EFA Board for three-year terms.

Trade Minister Simon Birmingham welcomed the appointments.

“Australian exporters continue to face significant challenges such as rising export costs, disruptions to supply-chains or loss of markets that are making it difficult for some of them to access vital commercial finance,” Senator Birmingham said.

“EFA’s suite of financial expertise and solutions, including the COVID-19 Export Capital Facility which our government established earlier this year, will continue to help exporters to get back on their feet,” he said.

“The reappointment of Mr Millar and the appointments of Mr Douglas and Mr Wilson reflect the Morrison Government’s ambition to ensure EFA has broad perspectives on the Australian economy and expertise in debt financing.”

Senator Birmingham thanked outgoing deputy chair and Audit and Risk Committee chair Rick Sawers, Denise Goldsworthy and Laura McBain for their contributions.

The new and reappointed board members join Jodie Baker, Rob Chapman, Swati Dave, Lynda Cheng and Frances Adamson on the Board.

Export Finance Australia is the federal government’s export credit agency, providing financial expertise and solutions to Australian exporters via loans, guarantees, bonds and insurance.