THE Victorian Transport Association and members of the Australian freight and logistics industry honoured the winners of the 2020 Australian Freight Industry Awards during a virtual awards presentation broadcast from The Pullman hotel in Melbourne.

COVID-19 restrictions meant the annual event had to be presented in online format.

The winners were:

•             Peter Smith, SCT Logistics, Personality of the Year Award;

•             Debra O’Donnell, Precise Pallet Management, Female Leadership Award;

•             Annastasia Denigan, Cement Australia, Young Achiever of the Year Award;

•             Alex Fraser Group, Sustainable Environment Award;

•             JOST Australia, Application of Technology Award;

•             Delta Group, Best Practice Safety Awardr; and

•             Nationwide Group, Investment in People Award.

VTA CEO Peter Anderson said this year’s awards occurred against the backdrop of unprecedented circumstances.

“I couldn’t be prouder of the way transport operators have rallied to keep Australia moving throughout the pandemic,” Mr Anderson said.

VTA President Mike Lean both award winners and those who took the time to prepare entries.

“In such tumultuous times, we never expected to receive a record number of nominations, and that we did is a credit to the passion our members have for these awards and recognising our industry’s many achievements and contributions,” Mr Lean said.

The Australian Freight Industry Awards presentation are renowned for the entertainment.

Event organisers arranged for the hit Australian rock band Boom Crash Opera to play their hits The Best Thing and Get Out of the House live from the studio.

Past AFIA entertainer Daryl Braithwaite also featured in the line-up with a special recording of his new hit Love Songs broadcast during the production.

The next major industry event to be held for the logistics sector is the Australian Shipping and Maritime Industry Awards, scheduled for Sydney on 18 February.

Click for more information.