A RECORD field of 125 players hit off in glorious conditions for the annual Shipping Industry Golf Challenge held at the picturesque Mona Vale Golf Club on October 23.

The beautifully manicured course and lightning fast greens resulted in lower scores than usual but the conditions drew high praise from all golfers.

Held annually to provide financial support for the oncology research unit at Westmead Children’s Hospital, the golf day and shipping community is recognised as a major benefactor of the hospital.

While the financial resulted has not been finalised, it is expected that the day’s total will take the cumulative donation close to $700,000.


Representing the hospital on the day (and also as a player), Dr Geoff McCowage spoke of importance of research and need for funding of clinical trials.

He said the ongoing support of events such as the Shipping Industry Golf Challenge was vital.

Organising committee of the Shipping Industry Golf Day. Credit: Lesley Aldershaw

In his usual entertaining address, Dr McCowage documented several examples of how research and trials had changed the life of young cancer sufferers.

“Having your year-in, year-out support for this work is incredibly important,” he said.

Major sponsors of the day were AdaptaLift Hyster, The DCN, DP World, NSW Ports, Patrick, Port Authority NSW and Royal Wolf while Svitzer were the breakfast sponsor.

Hole sponsors: 1-Stop, AAT, Containerliners, Cummins, Hamburg Sud, Hapag Lloyd, Hutchison Ports, Integra Technical Services, JPC Reefers, Maersk, Maritime Super, MGL Logistics, Newcastle Stevedores, Norton Wilson Lawyers, Qube, Seaway, Royal Wolf, Shipping Australia, Thermo King, Triton International, Wallenius Wilhelmsen.

There were two fund-raisers on the day through the popular heads’n’tails and the winners were Leo James from Hapag Lloyd who won a smart TV donated by Royal Wolf and Roy Periera from CAI who won a Sydney Harbour working tug experience donated by Port Authority NSW

Many companies donated additional prizes on the day including AdaptaLift Hyster, Royal Wolf, Patrick, Cummins, GlobeLink, Maritime Super, Qube and NSW Port Authority.

Individual results:

Outright winner – Roy Periera (Royal Wolf #3 team) 51pts; runner-up David Phillips (Svitzer team) 48pts.

Peter Attwater trophy for best score by player with Golf Australia handicap – Alan Foulkes 46pts.

Bradman trophy – Ed Tarrant 12pts.

Long drive: Matt Batman; straightest drive: Kieran Richards.

Nearest the pins – 2nd Rich van der Veld; 6th Marc White; 8th John Khair; 14th Mike Kemp; 16th John Huang

Team results: 1st –  Port Authority NSW No. 2 team (Doug Hanshaw, Jason McGregor, Len Phillips, Nick Robinson) 104pts; 2nd Svitzer (Dylan Sheehan, David Phillips, Cameron Bylmakers, Judd Adams) 103pts; 3rd JPC Reefers (Ashok Menon, Steve McDonough, David Tegg, Mike Kemp) 102pts c/b; 4th Hapag Lloyd (Allan Ball, Leo James, Damien Glengarry 27, Lex de Bok) 102pts; 5th Hamburg Sud (Geoff Greenwood, Simon Gardiner, Jane Strachan, Ian Westley) 101pts; 6th AAT (Steve Cowley, Kieran Richards, Dean Ladmore, Nicole Garlick) 100pts; c/b Royal Wolf No. 3 team (Chris Tolhurst, Ben Singh, Scott Hannah, Roy Periera) 100pts; 8th Hutchison Ports (Damien Wilson, Jarrod Graham, Greg Baldock, John Vlahadamis) 98pts; 9th Royal Wolf No. 2 team (Craig Baker, Darren Stein, Ian Abel, John Smith) 96pts c/b; 10th NSW Ports #1 team (Andrew Thompson, Lana Howell, Tim Arkell, John Khair) 96pts.