THE Australian Transport Safety Bureau recently bid farewell to Carolyn Walsh from its Commission after more than a decade of service.

Ms Walsh was the ATSB’s longest-serving commissioner and provided guidance and advice based upon her more than 30 years’ experience in policy development, regulation and safety management at federal and state levels.

“I would sincerely like to thank and acknowledge Commissioner Walsh for her tremendous contribution to the ATSB in general, and more specifically the provision of her invaluable rail industry knowledge and experience to improve transport safety in that sector,” said ATSB chief commissioner Greg Hood said.

“During her 10-year tenure, her wealth of knowledge and depth of experience has greatly contributed to several high-profile investigations.”

Ms Walsh jointed the ATSB Commission in March 2010.

Carolyn Walsh has enjoyed a lengthy career in transport regulation. Credit: ATSB

She was previously executive director of strategy in the NSW Office of the Coordinator General of Rail and chief executive of the NSW Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator.

“The Commission, the executive and staff of the ATSB express our thanks to Commissioner Walsh for her passion, determination and unwavering commitment in guiding and supporting the Bureau,” Mr Hood said.

“We wish her all the very best in her future endeavours and thank her for her exemplary contribution to improving transport safety in Australia.”

Ms Walsh continues in the role as chair of the National Transport Commission, and as the acting chair at the NSW Environmental Protection Agency.

A new member of the ATSB Commission is anticipated to be announced soon.